’s Top 3 Software RecommendationsLet work for you.Start Free TrialWork smarter with Wrike.Try for FreeIncrease productivity with Smartsheet.Try Smartsheet for FreeThe technology sector takes up a significant portion of the economy. The economy becoming more digital will allow more people and businesses innovate which in turn will help fuel the growth of technology. Experts agree that software development takes an average of four to six months. This is a key factor in producing high-quality software quickly.
What is SDLC?
Software development life cycles (SDLC) allow software companies to develop and deploy new websites, apps, or systems up to three times per year. An SDLC is a process or framework that allows a development team produce high quality software in a short time and at a low cost. These goals are achieved by the team following best practices and a structured approach that divides the process into six (some use seven).
Although the SDLC stages have been defined, there are many ways to follow the process. There are three types of SDLC models: iterative, waterfall, and spiral. Newer models, such as agile, lean and DevOps, are developed as requirements change and the business landscape changes. Although each approach is different, the goal is the exact same: to help developers deliver high-quality software quickly and economically.
SDLC stages
1. Requirement gathering
The senior members of the development team perform this important stage. They seek input from customers, project sponsors, and users to gain a better understanding of the problem and get details. They attempt to determine if an existing system needs to be modified or if a new system is needed. This stage also marks the beginning of planning for the software project.
Jama Software allows you to manage requirements as well as risks and tests while you create and develop products.
2. System analysis
The second stage involves the team’s detailed analysis of the problem. They answer the question, “What does the user want?” With input from customers they inspect, analyze and verify the data flows, processes, and sources to ensure that the solution addresses the user’s needs.
You can perform system analysis with many tools, including flowcharts or diagrams. Cacoo is an online flowchart and diagram software with built-in collaboration tools.
3. System design
The SDLC stage is where the analysts and designers from the development team collaborate to answer the question “How do we get what our user needs?” They translate the logical designs into a system that meets the functional requirements. The design describes the specifications, features and operations. All stakeholders must review the design document and give their approval before development can begin.
System design is a stage that involves documentation, drawings, collaboration, and coordination. Lucidchart is an online diagram-and-visual solution software that allows you to document processes, codes, and systems.
4. Development
The development stage is where the coding starts. The team creates the solution the user requires. The team should follow best practices and code style, depending on the programming language and architecture used. To ensure that they are working on the same solution plan, they should refer back to the design document.
GitHub is an online platform for software development that allows you and your team to host and review code and manage software projects.